Secretary-General Appoints New Global Compact Board Members


(New York) – United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon has appointed six new members to the Board of the UN Global Compact, the world’s largest voluntary corporate citizenship initiative. The appointments followed the recommendations made by the Board’s own Nominations Committee, tasked with the selection of candidates for the UN’s highest-ranking advisory body involving business and civil society.

The new Board members are:

  • Ms. Monica De Greiff, Chief Executive Officer, Grupo Energía de Bogotá, Colombia
  • Mr. Björn Hägglund, Board Member of Alfa Laval AB; Sweden
  • Mr. Pierre Sane, President, Imagine Africa International
  • Ms. Julia Marton-Lefèvre, Director-General, IUCN
  • Mr. Philip Jennings, General Secretary, UNI Global Union
  • Mr. Jean-Guy Carrier, Secretary-General, International Chamber of Commerce

The Secretary-General has also renewed the following Board Members for another term:

  • Mr. Toshio Arima, Director and Executive Advisor to the Board, Fuji Xerox, Japan
  • Ms. Anne Lauvergeon, Chief Executive Officer, Areva, France
  • Ms. Huguette Labelle, Chairperson, Transparency International

The Secretary-General has thanked Board members Mr. Guillermo Carey, Mr. Mads Oevlisen, Mrs. Mary Robinson, and Mrs. Chen Ying, who have completed their terms of appointment, for their championship, dedication and commitment to the initiative.

Chaired by the Secretary-General, the UN Global Compact Board was created in 2006 as a multi-stakeholder body to provide strategic and policy advice for the initiative as a whole and to make recommendation to the UN Global Compact Office, participants and other stakeholders. With now 22 members representing business, civil society, labour, and the United Nations, the Board also oversees implementation of the UN Global Compact’s integrity measures, under which more than 2,000 companies have been de-listed (as of February 2011) for not communicating on progress made in the implementation of the Global Compact principles.

Media Contact

Matthias Stausberg
UN Global Compact